Accuracy of xsim with modified clock settings

Technical questions regarding the XTC tools and programming with XMOS.
brendangillatt
New User

Accuracy of xsim with modified clock settings

Post by brendangillatt »

Hi XMOS team,

I am developing an application that needs to support a configurable bit-rate parallel output port, on an XU316 series device.

To achieve the variable bit-rate, I am planning to modify the main PLL settings. There appears to be enough flexibility in this main PLL to maintain a nearly 100 MHz REFCLK and a nearly 600 MHz system clock, while generating the desired bit rate for my application.

However, I am having a little difficulty demonstrating a successful PLL switch in the XSIM simulator.

If I change the main PLL settings, I would expect that the CLKBLK0 (CLKBLK_REF) would also change in a similar fashion, since it is derived from the main PLL by default. However, if I run my example application in the simulator I do not see a change. I am fairly new to XMOS development, so I do not yet know if it is because I am incorrectly setting the PLL, or if it is because the XSIM simulator does not model a change in clocks.

I noticed in the docs for the XMOS tools, the following statement:
"The tools include a near cycle-accurate hardware simulator XSIM. XSIM simulates of entire XMOS device, and may also simulate certain external devices such as a QSPI flash memory."

Could you expand on what "near cycle-accurate" means in this context?

For reference, my code to run the test is below.

Code: Select all

#include <stdio.h>
#include <stdint.h>
#include <xcore/hwtimer.h>
#include <xcore/port.h>
#include <platform.h>
#include <xscope.h>
#include <xcore/chanend.h>

void main_pll_init(void)
{
    const uint32_t tileid = get_local_tile_id();

// Register setting to disable PLL while we change settings.
    const uint32_t pll_ctrl_disable = 
        (1    << 31) | // Do not reset
        (0    << 30) | // Wait for lock