Comments on single-stepping in the X-Core

Technical questions regarding the XTC tools and programming with XMOS.
pnathan

Comments on single-stepping in the X-Core

Post by pnathan »

Hi,

I am a part-time graduate student studying embedded multicore debugging. My project is to build a "reversible" debugger in software (not using JTAG), where I can load the trace of the system into a screen and walk through the states of the system.

I selected the XCore because it seemed to be the best-documented multicore processor that was available for a student.

I've been working on trying to get single-step working - the *preliminary* work for a trace, for nearly 1 year now (more or less off and on). This is brutally technical to get right and it still doesn't work correctly. I really wish that there was an x86-esque status-bit to set. Let me explain why.

Rough sketch of x86 debug algorithm:

1. Disable interrupts
2. Assign address of debug handler to the correct vector.
3. Set the CPU correct status bit to 1.
4. Enable interrupts.

XMOS:
Assign debug handler vector.
DCALL into the debug handler.
Configure the interconnect to begin throwing the debug interrupt on:
Called PC + (2 or 4). Here you have to request the called PC from the interconnect.
Specify the return address in the interconnect.

Note that XCC does not appear to have a compiler mechanism to generate correct code for a debug interrupt, which has forced me to write a Perl script to scrub some stack manipulation instructions.

Problems:
1. You have to get/set the PC you are coming from and going to, which leads to...
2. You have to parse out if the instruction is 2 bytes or 4 bytes, and
3. You have to manually parse the instruction in order to do branches correctly. Preliminary results suggest RET doesn't correctly read the LR when in debug mode, so I expect I will have to simulate RET/LR, much as I have done with branching.