Would a Xmos controller be able to drive a device on the XY2 Topic is solved

If you have a simple question and just want an answer.
abeaupre

Would a Xmos controller be able to drive a device on the XY2

Post by abeaupre »

I'm a beginner in regards to micro-controllers and I need advice on a project. I saw that some Xmos product can process up to 1000 MIPS and want to know if this is enough to realize my application on a Xmos programmed in high level C/C++.I need to drive a scan-head using XY2-100 protocol. To do so, the controller must be able to send 20 bits words on two different channels on a 2 MHz clock. The data would need no processing.I would also need to simultaneously drive a PWM output at a adjustable frequency.XY2-100 protocol datasheet :http://www.newson.be/files/TD_XY2-100_R0703.pdf

View Solution
sethu_jangala
XCore Expert

Post by sethu_jangala »

This should be possible with XMOS devices. Have a look at the architecture and product brief documents to get you started with XMOS multicore microcontrollers.

Architecture Overview

Product Brief

mon2
XCore Legend

Post by mon2 »

Hi. Not familiar with xy2-100 interface but reviewing your reference document, the interface appears to be a differential signal. For this reason, you will not be able to interface the xy2-100 signals (+ / -) directly with the XMOS device. Instead, you will require RS422 transceivers. Most RS422 transceivers can permit voltage swings from -12 to +12 volts on the RS422 pins as a norm. Exar has recently announced some RS422 devices that permit -18 to +18 volts.

For example, the following should be appropriate for your project: