Beta Development Tools

All the latest news and announcements from XCore and XMOS.
Post Reply
User avatar
phalt
Respected Member
Posts: 298
Joined: Thu May 12, 2011 11:14 am
Contact:

Beta Development Tools

Post by phalt »

Download the beta release of the tools here

What do you think of the new beta tools?

Use this thread to give your feedback.


User avatar
lilltroll
XCore Expert
Posts: 956
Joined: Fri Dec 11, 2009 3:53 am
Location: Sweden, Eskilstuna

Post by lilltroll »

I have problem with the paths when trying to build under Windows.

Are the compiler meant to use the ../build/xcommon/....

I cannot compile with or without xcommon downloaded from GIT.

The install directory is the default one.
Probably not the most confused programmer anymore on the XCORE forum.
User avatar
phalt
Respected Member
Posts: 298
Joined: Thu May 12, 2011 11:14 am
Contact:

Post by phalt »

I'll let the engineers know.

There is a known issue in the beta with USB AUDIO boards too.
User avatar
lilltroll
XCore Expert
Posts: 956
Joined: Fri Dec 11, 2009 3:53 am
Location: Sweden, Eskilstuna

Post by lilltroll »

Code: Select all

xmake[2]: Files (x86)/XMOS/DevelopmentTools/ 11.11.0beta1/build/xcommon/module_xcommon/build/../build/Makefile.common1: No such file or directory
It is the beginning that is lost.
It should be "C:\Program Files (x86)"
Probably not the most confused programmer anymore on the XCORE forum.
User avatar
kris
Experienced Member
Posts: 84
Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2010 2:52 pm

Post by kris »

Hi lilltroll,

I just had a go at trying to reproduce this one. I seem to be able to create a new empty projects, and ones based on the code templates, and build them successfully on windows. Is there any chance you could attach the particular project that is causing this issue for you?
User avatar
Lele
Active Member
Posts: 52
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2011 4:08 pm
Contact:

Post by Lele »

hi all,
here my contribution: the missing part of the path that Lilltroll reported has blank spaces, maybe some quotation mark missing...
User avatar
lilltroll
XCore Expert
Posts: 956
Joined: Fri Dec 11, 2009 3:53 am
Location: Sweden, Eskilstuna

Post by lilltroll »

kris wrote:Hi lilltroll,

I just had a go at trying to reproduce this one. I seem to be able to create a new empty projects, and ones based on the code templates, and build them successfully on windows. Is there any chance you could attach the particular project that is causing this issue for you?
Have you tried it on a X64 Win7 system.

The crazy Win7 thing is that
"c:\Program Files (x86)" {in cmd.exe}
is only showed as "Program (x86)" in the window explorer

Probably easy to create problems for non Microsoft programs

I guess all would work if I reinstalled it in c:\XMOS.... instead

Updated: I moved the XMOS to the root, and changed the paths in the shortcut, it now worked directly.
But I guess others will have problem on Win7 x64 (I have 16 Gbyte RAM)
Probably not the most confused programmer anymore on the XCORE forum.
User avatar
phalt
Respected Member
Posts: 298
Joined: Thu May 12, 2011 11:14 am
Contact:

Post by phalt »

I've let the Tools guys know about this bug and it should be patched in the full release.
User avatar
lilltroll
XCore Expert
Posts: 956
Joined: Fri Dec 11, 2009 3:53 am
Location: Sweden, Eskilstuna

Post by lilltroll »

I have tested on both Win7 X86 and Win7 X64, it seems to be that all " " {spacebar} in filenames, project names etc becomes invalid.

Is there any more information about the xcc -fllvm yet?

Code: Select all

int main(){
	chan c[3];
	double Af=3.5,Bf=4.5,Cf;
	long long A=1000000;
	long long B=1000000;
	long long C;

	Cf=Af+Bf;
	C=A*B;

	printf("%f + %f = %f\n",Af,Bf,Cf);
	printf("%lld * %lld = %lld\n",A,B,C);

    return 0;
}
Console:
3.500000 + 4.500000 = 8.000000
1000000 * 1000000 = 1000000000000


:)
Probably not the most confused programmer anymore on the XCORE forum.
User avatar
lilltroll
XCore Expert
Posts: 956
Joined: Fri Dec 11, 2009 3:53 am
Location: Sweden, Eskilstuna

Post by lilltroll »

the debugger run in simulation mode has become great to work with.
Really easy to trace what is happening when doing instruction by instruction tracing. :!:
Probably not the most confused programmer anymore on the XCORE forum.
Post Reply