Where XMOS?

Technical discussions around xCORE processors (e.g. General Purpose (L/G), xCORE-USB, xCORE-Analog, xCORE-XA).
User avatar
akp
XCore Expert
Posts: 541
Joined: Thu Nov 26, 2015 11:47 pm

Post by akp »

Are you suggested the AKM fire is not affecting XMOS MCU availability? I would guess not, but who knows? The global shortage is a complicated problem with many contributing factors, undoubtedly.


AlexAdvice
XCore Addict
Posts: 134
Joined: Sun Feb 23, 2014 11:30 am

Post by AlexAdvice »

I have no idea how AKM fire can influence to XMOS.
User avatar
akp
XCore Expert
Posts: 541
Joined: Thu Nov 26, 2015 11:47 pm

Post by akp »

Right, I could hazard a couple of guesses. They might be dead wrong, but I think my first one probably has some truth to it.

How many large OEMs do you think use both AKM chips and XMOS chips? Presumably a lot of audio companies, at very least. If you're an OEM who was "burned" by the AKM fire, and you know you've got to redesign your board for a Cirrus chip, or TI chip, or Analog Devices chip -- do you also want to redesign it for something other than XMOS, since you know the XMOS chip you use is EOL and you may not know when the replacements will be available? Or do you gobble up all the spare XMOS chips while they're cheap?

And if you're a fab, and you've got lots of orders from AKM competitors for their parts due to the scarcity of AKM chips, might you delay XMOS chips if they're a smaller order?
__BriKs__
Active Member
Posts: 48
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2018 9:45 pm

Post by __BriKs__ »

Still no news about chips availability ?
baffless
Newbie
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Feb 23, 2021 12:27 pm

Post by baffless »

Yes where are XMOS chips? at digikey there are 4 positions available out of 341 from XMOS. I started a new board with XMOS chip and i am not sure should i proceed. Anyone knows the situation better?