xrun: Cannot load image, XCore 0 is not enabled

Voice related projects and technical discussions
User avatar
aclassifier
Respected Member
Posts: 445
Joined: Wed Apr 25, 2012 8:52 pm

xrun: Cannot load image, XCore 0 is not enabled

Post by aclassifier »

I have got this problem on one of my two only XK-USB-MIC-UF216 (XCORE MICROPHONE ARRAY EVALUATION BOARD).

My box with the well strapped 5V cable hit the floor when my foot hooked the wire. I really thought it would survive.

I see the problem described at Why do I get Cannot load image, XCore 0 is not enabled?.

I use xTIMEcomposer 14.4.1.

bash-3.2$ xflash /Users/oyvindteig/Documents/dev/xc/workspace/_Beep_BRRR_01/bin/_Beep_BRRR_01.xe
xflash: Warning: F03148 --quad-spi-clock not given, using default 15.62MHz
xrun: Cannot load image, XCore 0 is not enabled

Error: F03013 Failed to run : 0x7fff50fdb900.

The last address there is not repeatable. A strange thing is that when I moved my XTAG-3 over to the fresh board, I got the same error message. I then thought that it was the XTAG-3 so I replaced it. It then worked for the ok board. However, when I used the first XTAG-3 again it also worked with the ok board.

I have measured some and done some visual inspections and cannot find anything broken. The PGOOD LED is lit on the failing board. 5V is fine. I haven't scoped anything.

When it first died I changed the USB cable and it was running fine, but that was the last I saw of it - after that I got the above error message when I did xflash.

What could be done?

Would anybody have one-two used but working XK-USB-MIC-UF216 boards that isn't needed that I could buy? My one to three of a kind hobby project is seen here: https://www.teigfam.net/oyvind/home/tec ... tes-movie/


--
Øyvind Teig
Trondheim (Norway)
https://www.teigfam.net/oyvind/home/
User avatar
aclassifier
Respected Member
Posts: 445
Joined: Wed Apr 25, 2012 8:52 pm

Post by aclassifier »

It's up and running again!

I twisted it and pushed on it and cleaned with a sharp nail between the pads on the processor (with the iPhone magnifying app on). Right now I have pleased it enough that it seems to turn on every time. Should it get sour, I guess I have to push some right place again. Since I don't have hot air soldering equipment or ultrasound, and cannot see any broken solder land or through the layer problems.

Luck that this board wasn't on its way to Mars! (After 45 years in the trade this was kind of a first.)

Any more reasonable reasoning is welcomed!
--
Øyvind Teig
Trondheim (Norway)
https://www.teigfam.net/oyvind/home/
User avatar
CousinItt
Respected Member
Posts: 335
Joined: Wed May 31, 2017 6:55 pm

Post by CousinItt »

LQFP pin spacing isn't so bad that you can't reflow them. Just use a decent soldering iron, appropriate magnification, and remember that flux is your friend. There are loads of tutorials on youtube.
User avatar
aclassifier
Respected Member
Posts: 445
Joined: Wed Apr 25, 2012 8:52 pm

Post by aclassifier »

Thanks for the tip! I've already had to tickle it once! :-)

I did search like "reflowing an LQFP with a soldering iron" but the hits I got were a little off.

I will search more, but if there is a known favourite I'll say yes, thanks !-)
--
Øyvind Teig
Trondheim (Norway)
https://www.teigfam.net/oyvind/home/
User avatar
CousinItt
Respected Member
Posts: 335
Joined: Wed May 31, 2017 6:55 pm

Post by CousinItt »