Starting a slicekit project without reinventing the wheel

New to XMOS and XCore? Get started here.
Treczoks

Starting a slicekit project without reinventing the wheel

Post by Treczoks »

Hi!

I'm quite new to the XMOS world, and I just got my SliceKit. Now I'm in the process of setting up my first project and I'm wondering:

There is the SliceKit-L16.xn file which defines all the ports and produces a meaningful platform.h with the port definitions - or at least could, if one took the job and added all the necessary definitions to the .xn file.

Is there a way to tell the system that I have got an EtherSlice at the Circle Port, and it "includes" this into the .cn file somehow, placing e.g. the RXD signals to port P4E0? I played around with the xSOFTip Explorer, but that did not help, either.

According to XMOS, the documentation for the .XN file is in the xTIME Composer guide (x3766B). So far, what I have read was not really helpful with regards to defining ports.

NOTE TO XMOS: On page 228, there is a table (Fig 62: Hierarchy of XN elements) where the references are still undefined, i.e. there is a bunch of "§??". And the last page of the Rev. B document is "235/229" - Rev. A had 229 pages ;-)

Why do I have to define ports in the .xn twice? There is Network->Package->Node->Port with Location and Name, and ExternalDevices->Device->Attribute with Name and Value (which contents are identical, which adds to the confusion over whether this is necessary, and for what).

Maybe I'm missing something big, but so far the .xn file only seems to add complexity to things without a benefit I can see.

Yours,
Christian Treczoks

TSC
Experienced Member

Post by TSC »

You're not supposed to define all ports and slices in the .xn file.

The .xn file is mainly for defining things like how multiple tiles are connected, boot configuration and labels for some ports (like onboard LEDs and buttons, etc).