xCORE 200 basic questions

Technical questions regarding the XTC tools and programming with XMOS.
ben
New User

xCORE 200 basic questions

Post by ben »

I have the XCORE-200 MULTICHANNEL USB AUDIO, which has 8 audio I/O. When connected to the PC, it shows only one sound card. How do I:
1) Change it in the XMOS firmware to have 8 channels?
2) Give each I/O a different sound card name?

I found where you can change the device name in the devicedefines.h, but am not sure how to have set to 8 channels.

I am a novice, and will greatly appreciate any help. Thanks!

dsteinwe
XCore Addict

Post by dsteinwe »

You can find the corresponding informations in manual https://www.xmos.ai/file/usb-audio-soft ... sign-guide in the chapter "5 Programming Guide". There is described how to configure, enable and disable features.
ben
New User

Post by ben »

Thank you for your help!

I have successfully setup the demo board, but am wanting to do a new design, except with more codec's.

My questions are:
1) What would the general steps be for connecting a Codec to the XMOS chip? For example, if I was wanting to use the CS42448 codec and connect it to the XMOS chip.
2) Where specifically in TimeComposser do I program the pin/port GPIO assignments? For example, I noticed that the ADC SD1 pin goes to the X0D24 xCORE GPIO pin. Where in TimeComposser do I program this pin as an Analog input pin?
3) If I had multiple codecs, could I have one codec on one Tile, and another on the other Tile, and still be able to mix audio? Or does mixing audio require all the codecs to be on the same Tile?

Thanks!
dsteinwe
XCore Addict

Post by dsteinwe »

1) What would the general steps be for connecting a Codec to the XMOS chip? For example, if I was wanting to use the CS42448 codec and connect it to the XMOS chip.