AN00136

Technical questions regarding the XTC tools and programming with XMOS.
Elmodriver

AN00136

Post by Elmodriver »

I am trying to implement a data transfer mechanism between an Xmos based phased array application. The device is onboard a small mobile device, whose linux based main processor is best suited to receive our phase array info via USB. I am new to USB. I can't seem to make the transfer work, and could use advice.

Requirement - transfer tables of 40000 bytes from xmos to host. Optionally transfer like-sized files from host to Xmos.

environment - XCORE-2000 driven by window 10 via xTIMEcomposer, as downloaded from XMOS recently, and Linux server. I am using libusb 3.1.2.

Narrative - Initially I used AN00125 as a framework, and found that AN00136 more simply match my needs as a framework for the signal processing api. I also tried custom api's as inspired by various internet tutorials. On the linux development host I tried several examples from the internet, the host linux 64 bit source from AN00136, as well as a simple python example from pyusb.

Problems:
1. The PID in the XMOS code is sent as 0x001B but always arrives at the host as 0xF7D4, no matter which xmos code or host API I use.

2. The read never works, usually failing with a time out, or with the read return code saying success but no data transferred. The write times out intermittantly, and I cannot verify that the write, when it succeeds, actually transfers data, because I cannot read it back. As a test I wrote to the XCORE-200 onboard LEDS reacting to expected write data, and while the led debugging technique worked, they never showed a write that matched what was to be sent.