Connection to xmos.com terminated

Technical questions regarding the xTIMEcomposer, xSOFTip Explorer and Programming with XMOS.
rbarreiros
Member
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Dec 26, 2013 9:43 pm

Post by rbarreiros »

Ok, I think I found the issue, now I don't know how this only affects me and not everyone else.

I went digging on figuring out which URL's are called in the application to do the login, and key retrieval, as well as package info etc, and I noticed the https://www.xmos.com/api/get_* calls and tested in the browser to see if all works, and, indeed it does, I can retrieve my key using the browser, package info, documentation etc, but, not in xtimecomposer, I kept getting the same errors. Now, I noticed in the browser, that the URL gets redirected to https://www.xmos.com/developer/api/... so I wondered if the redirection was being handled correctly, well, it isn't, after setting the environment variable XDE_ONLINE_URL to https://www.xmos.com/developer/ instead of https://www.xmos.com everything worked, the sign in, docs, modules info, etc etc.

So I'm guessing the redirect isn't being handled properly, question is, why me ? Can if be my java version ?

java version "1.8.0_241"
Java(TM) SE Runtime Environment (build 1.8.0_241-b07)
Java HotSpot(TM) Client VM (build 25.241-b07, mixed mode, sharing)


User avatar
mon2
XCore Legend
Posts: 1910
Joined: Thu Jun 10, 2010 11:43 am

Post by mon2 »

Very strange.

Can you ping xmos.com using the command prompt window?

Also see the advice from Nick:

https://www.xcore.com/viewtopic.php?t=7571
User avatar
mon2
XCore Legend
Posts: 1910
Joined: Thu Jun 10, 2010 11:43 am

Post by mon2 »

With regards to java, you must install the 32 bit version even if you are on 64 bit os. There is no issue to install both versions if you wish as they can co-exist.
rbarreiros
Member
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Dec 26, 2013 9:43 pm

Post by rbarreiros »

I had done everything in that topic also with no result :/

Not sure if I have both java versions installed, will get back on that.
User avatar
mon2
XCore Legend
Posts: 1910
Joined: Thu Jun 10, 2010 11:43 am

Post by mon2 »

Can you also try to install an older version of the toolchain?

Does that work for you?
rbarreiros
Member
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Dec 26, 2013 9:43 pm

Post by rbarreiros »

Just checked, Java version I have installed is the 32bit version
rbarreiros
Member
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Dec 26, 2013 9:43 pm

Post by rbarreiros »

mon2 wrote: Sun Jul 05, 2020 4:28 pm Can you also try to install an older version of the toolchain?

Does that work for you?
I didn't test that no, where can I find the older versions ?

P.S. Spoke too soon, found them. But it's all working in the app now, all I needed is to change the URL to xmos.com/developer :)
User avatar
mon2
XCore Legend
Posts: 1910
Joined: Thu Jun 10, 2010 11:43 am

Post by mon2 »

Excellent!
dongore
Junior Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Aug 12, 2019 1:40 pm

Post by dongore »

rbarreiros wrote: Sun Jul 05, 2020 3:56 pm Ok, I think I found the issue, now I don't know how this only affects me and not everyone else.

I went digging on figuring out which URL's are called in the application to do the login, and key retrieval, as well as package info etc, and I noticed the https://www.xmos.com/api/get_* calls and tested in the browser to see if all works, and, indeed it does, I can retrieve my key using the browser, package info, documentation etc, but, not in xtimecomposer, I kept getting the same errors. Now, I noticed in the browser, that the URL gets redirected to https://www.xmos.com/developer/api/... so I wondered if the redirection was being handled correctly, well, it isn't, after setting the environment variable XDE_ONLINE_URL to https://www.xmos.com/developer/ instead of https://www.xmos.com everything worked, the sign in, docs, modules info, etc etc.

So I'm guessing the redirect isn't being handled properly, question is, why me ? Can if be my java version ?

java version "1.8.0_241"
Java(TM) SE Runtime Environment (build 1.8.0_241-b07)
Java HotSpot(TM) Client VM (build 25.241-b07, mixed mode, sharing)
I'm facing the same problem, but I can't find the environment variable you mention. Where did you change that?
rbarreiros
Member
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Dec 26, 2013 9:43 pm

Post by rbarreiros »

Someone sent me an email (Gordon) about where I set the env variable with the URL, but I have no idea how to reply, message doesn't show up in the forum private messages, anyway, I'll leave it here.

In setenv.bat on the \XMOS\xTIMEcomposer\Community_14.4.1 folder, add the following to the end of it

SET XDE_ONLINE_URL=https://www.xmos.com/developer