XVF-3510 development and USB device

Technical questions regarding the xTIMEcomposer, xSOFTip Explorer and Programming with XMOS.
Kevin Jordan
New User

XVF-3510 development and USB device

Postby Kevin Jordan » Fri May 22, 2020 6:14 pm

I'm new to the XMOS chipset and the SDK. I bought the XMOS XVF3510 developer kit (XK-VF3510-L71-AVS). The device worked fine as a I2S device directly on the Raspberry Pi, but we are changing directions and would like to have the XVF3510 as a USB device instead.

Is there a guide to getting this XMOS chip/Devkit to work as a USB device? I plugged the USB part of the the DevKit into the Raspi, my windows computer, and a Mac, it did not show up as a sound card or mic input on any of these devices.

The USB lines are connected to the XVF3510, but I'm assuming I need to program the chip with the XTAG programmer to enable the USB functions. I have the XTAG programmer, but I'm not sure where to start with xTimeComposer.

I know the XVF-3500 chip can do this, as ReSpeaker and Acusis both show up as a sound card.

Is there a guide or example project to work with xTimeComposer to have the chip show up as a USB sound card? Has anyone else been able to have this chip come up as a USB device?

Thanks!
--Kevin
mon2
XCore Legend

Postby mon2 » Fri May 22, 2020 10:12 pm

Hi Kevin. Welcome to the forum.

Yes, it is possible to reflash the XMOS CPU to make it behave as a USB device. The CPU is very flexible and capable of morphing into assorted shapes including an ultra fast GPIO bit banging device to support Gigabit Ethernet; Audio devices; USB functions, etc.

On this topic, the website and appnotes are a bit scattered so recommend that you use Google to find the juicy stuff.

The first suggestion is to consider the following Application Note to morph the CPU into a USB CDC device -> will create a serial port on your Windows / Linux box with ease for quick testing.

https://www.xmos.com/?s=AN00124