How to recover signal if use window function to do

Voice related projects and technical discussions
link0513
Member++

How to recover signal if use window function to do

Post by link0513 »

I use FFT to analyze signal and IFFT to recover the signal. If I add haning window when FFT, the signal can't recover by IFFT. I am not very good at algorithm, please help.

dsp_fft_bit_reverse_and_forward_real(sample,512,dsp_sine_256,dsp_sine_512);
dsp_complex_t * local = (int32_t *)sample;
dsp_complex_window_hanning_post_fft_half(local,512); //add window
dsp_fft_bit_reverse_and_inverse_real(local,512,dsp_sine_256,dsp_sine_512);

CousinItt
Respected Member

Post by CousinItt »

As I understand it, windowing is usually applied before the forward FFT as it avoids spectral leakage due to discontinuities at the ends of the input sequence. Can you provide a reference for dsp_complex_window_hanning_post_fft_half()? I can't find it on git_hub.
link0513
Member++

Post by link0513 »

CousinItt wrote: Mon Jul 29, 2019 11:38 am As I understand it, windowing is usually applied before the forward FFT as it avoids spectral leakage due to discontinuities at the ends of the input sequence. Can you provide a reference for dsp_complex_window_hanning_post_fft_half()? I can't find it on git_hub.
This function is define in dsp_complex.h in lib_dsp 4.2 version
https://github.com/xmos/lib_dsp
link0513
Member++

Post by link0513 »

And another question is about the Nyquist real term (in array[0].im) after FFT, what's this part use for?
CousinItt
Respected Member

Post by CousinItt »

See here:

https://www.researchgate.net/post/How_C ... puting_FFT

The linked article on embedded.com is interesting. I assume the algorithm convolves the window function with the post-FFT spectrum. I don't understand why it would be preferable time-domain windowing.

When you say you can't recover the original signal, why would you expect to? It's going to be different after the window function is applied.
CousinItt