The XMOS Experience - what do you think?

All the latest news and announcements from XCore and XMOS.
User avatar
jason
XCore Expert
Posts: 577
Joined: Tue Sep 08, 2009 5:15 pm

Re: The XMOS Experience - what do you think?

Postby jason » Mon Feb 22, 2010 1:25 pm

Lots of good posts. Keep them coming!
User avatar
lilltroll
XCore Expert
Posts: 955
Joined: Fri Dec 11, 2009 3:53 am
Location: Sweden, Eskilstuna

Postby lilltroll » Mon Feb 22, 2010 7:53 pm

I love that XMOS does not have an USB integrated, specially that the do not have ADC-and DACs. It might look nice in the product brief with an integreated n-bit converter , but too often the real performance of the converters are only good enought for checking the battery voltage or making toys. Also the real world errata that follows. The USB chip can be verified to work by thousands of customers. A new "everything included chip" oftens shows a lot of HW errata problems after a while.
If you are a software-guy you might be afraid of the outside chip components - but the hardware guys will have your headake when you find out that you cannot solve the new found errata problem.

To change one external component late in a project => that will delay a project and add cost - but the need to change the MCU/DSC/SOC due to strange behaivour will destroy the project.
Probably not the most confused programmer anymore on the XCORE forum.
User avatar
shawn
XCore Addict
Posts: 238
Joined: Thu Dec 17, 2009 5:15 am

Postby shawn » Tue Feb 23, 2010 12:41 am

lilltroll wrote:I love that XMOS does not have an USB integrated, specially that the do not have ADC-and DACs. It might look nice in the product brief with an integreated n-bit converter , but too often the real performance of the converters are only good enought for checking the battery voltage or making toys. Also the real world errata that follows. The USB chip can be verified to work by thousands of customers. A new "everything included chip" oftens shows a lot of HW errata problems after a while.
If you are a software-guy you might be afraid of the outside chip components - but the hardware guys will have your headake when you find out that you cannot solve the new found errata problem.

To change one external component late in a project => that will delay a project and add cost - but the need to change the MCU/DSC/SOC due to strange behaivour will destroy the project.
Yah, thats what I like about it too. Its RAW core. No notion of a device even., just thread to thread
with CSP no abstractions or bells and whistles. Xmos snuffs most fpga apps and god only knows what else.
User avatar
errordeveloper
Active Member
Posts: 50
Joined: Wed Dec 16, 2009 6:04 pm
Location: London

Postby errordeveloper » Fri Feb 26, 2010 3:09 am

Yah, thats what I like about it too. Its RAW core. No notion of a device even., just thread to thread
with CSP no abstractions or bells and whistles. Xmos snuffs most fpga apps and god only knows what else.
i agree, the only real DISADVANTAGE is absence of floats ;(

well, also about experience with sales - the university rep program sucks in terms of VAT,
right now i just don't have any spare bit of cash to get a kit - i virtually have enuf credit to buy almost two, but the VAT + delivery sucks ;(
out of the 250 bucks credit i managed to get just the two books so far ..
also the on-line store has some buggy scripts, applying the credit it first looks like you will pay just a little extra, but the click on next and it recalculates in a different way!
User avatar
leon_heller
XCore Expert
Posts: 546
Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2009 10:41 pm
Location: St. Leonards-on-Sea, E. Sussex, UK.

Postby leon_heller » Fri Feb 26, 2010 3:24 am

If you need floats you can use C, XC and C functions can be mixed. They have to be in separate files, of course.

Leon
User avatar
errordeveloper
Active Member
Posts: 50
Joined: Wed Dec 16, 2009 6:04 pm
Location: London

Postby errordeveloper » Sun Feb 28, 2010 8:49 pm

leon_heller wrote:If you need floats you can use C, XC and C functions can be mixed. They have to be in separate files, of course.

Leon
ok, but i imagine a huge performace drop!

could you tell what's gonna be the ration of MIPS vs FLOPS?
User avatar
leon_heller
XCore Expert
Posts: 546
Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2009 10:41 pm
Location: St. Leonards-on-Sea, E. Sussex, UK.

Postby leon_heller » Sun Feb 28, 2010 11:28 pm

Very few embedded applications need floating point, anyway.
User avatar
nieuwhzn
Member++
Posts: 26
Joined: Sat Dec 12, 2009 6:45 am

Postby nieuwhzn » Mon Mar 01, 2010 3:02 am

I don't think the Xcores are only meant for embedded applications. XMOS's CTO still has his eye on the parallel computing market. Hardware floating point is a must there. Probably XMOS is seeing the embedded market as its biggest revenue engine while the parallel stuff is more like fun academic R&D?

I still hope that XMOS will come out with a Xcore version that has (almost) no ports, just XLinks. Maybe the freed up silicon can be used for a floating point processor?
User avatar
shawn
XCore Addict
Posts: 238
Joined: Thu Dec 17, 2009 5:15 am

Postby shawn » Mon Mar 01, 2010 5:53 am

What do you think about OpenCL for Xmos then?
coupled to LP, coprocessor for your extra DSP, FLOPS.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests