error: use of `r_i2c' violates parallel usage rules (xCORE-200 MC)

Technical discussions related to any XMOS development kit or reference design. Eg XK-1A, sliceKIT, etc.
avrobot
Member++

error: use of `r_i2c' violates parallel usage rules (xCORE-200 MC)

Post by avrobot »

I am pretty new to Xcore and customizing sw_usb_audio and have some devices in addition to the DAC/ADC on the main I2C bus that need to be accessed (HW cannot have an additional I2C bus).

I am trying to achieve: sending of a non-blocking I2C command to be triggered from inside midioutparse.xc.

By attempting to call i2c_shared routine that is defined in audiohw.xc I get "error: use of `r_i2c' violates parallel usage rules" and I understand this is due to shared thread protection.

What is the best way to achieve this goal? Channels, or interfaces? And where exactly in the code should I define these such that I can pass the info from inside midioutparse into audiohw?

I read another thread that discussed using a different i2c lib that allowed multiple thread access but this I fear is not straight forward and probably remains blocking.

Thanks for any thoughts.

RitchRock
XCore Addict

Post by RitchRock »

I have not used midioutparse, however I took the time to switch from the shared i2c routine used in the standard firmware to lib_i2c and I have no problems using i2C outside of audiohw.xc. I've used most of the various i2c functions (and even extended my own) without problem.

Are you using the eval board? If so, I believe I2C is on a 4-bit port, so you will be limited to using i2c_master_single_port()
avrobot
Member++

Post by avrobot »

thanks RitchRock I'll look into effort to port over the i2c functions within audiohw to lib_i2c so I can also access i2c from other tasks. Yep I'm on the 4bit port as in eval board. Will be interesting to see if its straight forward port...