ethernet mac address

Technical discussions around xCORE processors (e.g. General Purpose (L/G), xCORE-USB, xCORE-Analog, xCORE-XA).
sleepless
Junior Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Nov 10, 2010 10:44 pm

ethernet mac address

Postby sleepless » Fri Jan 21, 2011 7:39 pm

Hi,

Not sure if this is the right place, but I see the ethernet code gets its MAC address from OTP on the XC-2. I also notice the address seems to be registered (wireshark shows xmos as the vendor). Does this mean there is a unique MAC address on each chip (specifically the G4) ?

Thanks
User avatar
lilltroll
XCore Expert
Posts: 955
Joined: Fri Dec 11, 2009 3:53 am
Location: Sweden, Eskilstuna

Postby lilltroll » Sat Jan 22, 2011 2:44 pm

If you check the code you can find the read from the OTP. If they stored a uniqe MAC in each I do not know. Which adress do you have in the OTP ?
Probably not the most confused programmer anymore on the XCORE forum.
User avatar
segher
XCore Expert
Posts: 843
Joined: Sun Jul 11, 2010 1:31 am

Postby segher » Sun Jan 23, 2011 1:48 am

Not every chip has OTP written.

When you run the ethernet code on a chip that hasn't, it generates a random one
(in the low 24 bits).
Corin
Experienced Member
Posts: 66
Joined: Fri Dec 11, 2009 3:38 pm

Postby Corin » Mon Jan 24, 2011 2:15 pm

There is a custom MAC address (or 2 for an XC-3) assigned to each development board with an Ethernet interface - so XDK, XC-2, XC-3, XR-AVB-LC-BRD and XP-DSC-BLDC. It's burned into the OTP during board test and is tracked relative to the serial number of that board.

XMOS has it's own range of MAC addresses beginning 00:22:97:XX:XX:XX

Kind Regards,
Corin
sleepless
Junior Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Nov 10, 2010 10:44 pm

Postby sleepless » Mon Jan 24, 2011 8:48 pm

Thanks for all the responses. I had thought as much, but it would be nice if it was. The XMOS mac range helps, though, as it will make it easier to pick a valid address in production.

Thanks
Corin
Experienced Member
Posts: 66
Joined: Fri Dec 11, 2009 3:38 pm

Postby Corin » Tue Jan 25, 2011 11:38 am

Hi Sleepless,

Thank you for your response.

Unfortunately, you must use your own range of MAC addresses. Under no circumstances must you use the XMOS MAC address range, as these are for boards produced by ourselves.

You can apply for your own range of MAC address from here:
- for less than 4097 addresses = http://standards.ieee.org/develop/regau ... index.html = $600
- for more than 4097 addresses = http://standards.ieee.org/develop/regau ... index.html = $1,750

Hope this helps.

Kind Regards,
Corin

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest