Stack of mixed questions

Technical discussions around xCORE processors (e.g. xcore-200 & xcore.ai).
Sciencefiction68

Stack of mixed questions

Post by Sciencefiction68 »

Hi XMOS. Im trying to design a new development board using XMOS for the design contest going on in my country. I have some experience with Atmel and Microchip MCU s but totally new to XMOS and multi core architecture. New board is tend to be used primarily for robotics applications but should be expandable for other types of applications too. It should support as many sensor types as possible which means needs to have good set of analog and digital GPIOs plus UART , SPI and other types of connections. It must be programmed via usb port which is going to be on board without using any other hardware. Also support ETHERNET and USB communications.

question 1: Do L series have analog IO? ADC, DAC and other common analog functialities ? I have looked to many datasheets in L series but couldn't find info about anolog specs. if yes how many pins can be used for analog purposes.

question 2: How do i achieve startkit like programming with usb cable only ? Do i have to program one of my cores to work as programmer?

question 3: Which device would u comment for this purpose?

question 4: Are there any video tutorials on programming XMOS devices ?

Thats it for now . Thanks for reading and input:)

Bianco
XCore Expert

Post by Bianco »

1) no
2) The startKIt implements a complete debugger (similar to the XTAG2) on its second tile.
You can of course make some kind of bootloader to update the firmware (USB DFU, Serial, whatever you like)
Sciencefiction68

Bianco wrote:1) no
I was afraid of this:S And i suppose Analog series doesnt have digital capabilities plus USB Ethernet and other connectivity solutions?
pstnotpd
XCore Addict

Post by pstnotpd »

You can always go fancy and go for a multi chip design which combines L,U and A series.