500 MHz L1!

Technical discussions around xCORE processors (e.g. General Purpose (L/G), xCORE-USB, xCORE-Analog, xCORE-XA).
User avatar
jonathan
Respected Member
Posts: 377
Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2009 6:07 pm

500 MHz L1!

Postby jonathan » Tue Feb 23, 2010 4:06 pm

From:

https://www.xmos.com/products/developme ... /ipod-dock
XMOS wrote: # 500MHz XS1-L1 device giving high levels of processing and flexibility.
Sweet! I'm guessing this means the L2 is going to be 1GIPS. :-)
Image
User avatar
Folknology
XCore Legend
Posts: 1274
Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2009 10:20 pm

Postby Folknology » Tue Feb 23, 2010 4:21 pm

Wow even more Gips for free!!

How does it stack up with power consumption
User avatar
Folknology
XCore Legend
Posts: 1274
Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2009 10:20 pm

Postby Folknology » Tue Feb 23, 2010 4:24 pm

Actually is this considered an overclock?

Can it be used with existing L1s or is it a more refined L1 production?
User avatar
Folknology
XCore Legend
Posts: 1274
Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2009 10:20 pm

Postby Folknology » Tue Feb 23, 2010 4:30 pm

This is a bit of a show stopper and sucks big time:
Apple® "Made for iPod" licensees.
On the ipod /dock page release
User avatar
paul
XCore Addict
Posts: 169
Joined: Fri Jan 08, 2010 12:13 am

Postby paul » Tue Feb 23, 2010 4:36 pm

This is a Apple requirement for all iPod/iPhone Accessories - not an XMOS requirement.

You'll also notice in the block diagram that you require an authentification device. These are also only available to MFI licensees.
Paul

On two occasions I have been asked, 'Pray, Mr. Babbage, if you put into the machine wrong figures, will the right answers come out?' I am not able rightly to apprehend the kind of confusion of ideas that could provoke such a question.
User avatar
Folknology
XCore Legend
Posts: 1274
Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2009 10:20 pm

Postby Folknology » Tue Feb 23, 2010 4:44 pm

I also see the powerguide refers to 500mhz as a speed example
http://www.xmos.com/system/files/xs1-l-power.pdf
User avatar
jonathan
Respected Member
Posts: 377
Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2009 6:07 pm

Postby jonathan » Tue Feb 23, 2010 4:48 pm

Folknology wrote:Actually is this considered an overclock?

Can it be used with existing L1s or is it a more refined L1 production?
This.

I've been asked on Twitter.
Image
User avatar
Folknology
XCore Legend
Posts: 1274
Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2009 10:20 pm

Postby Folknology » Tue Feb 23, 2010 4:55 pm

@paul yup they have quite Draconian rules, I used to work for a third party Apple manufacturer years ago.

When you follow their rules and then make something successful, they then go and make it themselves and shaft you, nice folks to do biz with, maker beware.. :cry:
User avatar
___
Member++
Posts: 30
Joined: Wed Feb 03, 2010 5:04 pm

Postby ___ » Tue Feb 23, 2010 5:23 pm

Folknology wrote:Actually is this considered an overclock?

Can it be used with existing L1s or is it a more refined L1 production?
Or the existing L1's are underclocked ;)
User avatar
jonathan
Respected Member
Posts: 377
Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2009 6:07 pm

Postby jonathan » Tue Feb 23, 2010 5:25 pm

___ wrote:
Folknology wrote:Actually is this considered an overclock?

Can it be used with existing L1s or is it a more refined L1 production?
Or the existing L1's are underclocked ;)
Lol, is that an answer?
Image

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests