A little bit confused: Threads, Cores, Processors?

Technical discussions around xCORE processors (e.g. xcore-200 & xcore.ai).
Mahagon
Member++

A little bit confused: Threads, Cores, Processors?

Post by Mahagon »

Hi XCORE Community,

I'm new to Xmos Microcontrollers and spended a lot of time during the last weeks in reading and trying XCores with my "XK-1A" Board! Seriously: It's fun and im looking forward inventing my first own projects with it!

But actually i have quiet stupid sounding question:

How many Threads can I process a the same time with the par {...} function ?

Let's speak about maybe an XS1-L6 device (six cores on one tile; just for example!).
In my understanding, i can run 6 Threads on that device. But i read today in the XC-Programming Guide on Page 29/65 "[..]Each XS1 device has a limit of eight threads available on each of its processors[...]". So now that means, i can start 6x8=48 parallel threads, right?

I know thats a stupid question, but i read nearly every XMOS architecture PDF File thats available at xmos.com, so maybe im just a bit confused about processor/core-word using in that Files. Or its my bad english :)

So far :)

Berni
Respected Member

Post by Berni »

Yeah this recent marketing decision from Xmos to rename stuff is really confusing to actual engineers. A title is what you know as a core (CPU with its dedicated RAM and such), then what they call a core is what you know as a thread. Each core can run 8 threads(Except these new chips they are launching have less threads) so you can use the par statement to call 8 different subroutines in parallel.(if you try to do too many the compiler will give an error at compile time)
Bianco
XCore Expert

Post by Bianco »

Hello Mahagon, Welcome to the Xcore community.

The XK-1A can run 8 Threads in parallel.
The upcoming XS1-L6 can run 6 threads in parallel.

The naming conventions have been changed recently as Berni pointed out.
Threads are renamed to (logical) cores or Xcores.