Custom XMOS board, Criticism of design needed!

Technical discussions around xCORE processors (e.g. xcore-200 & xcore.ai).
jonecm
Member++

Custom XMOS board, Criticism of design needed!

Post by jonecm »

Hi Guys, I'm developing a custom board utilizing a XMOS L1, This is my first project using the XMOS processor so if some more experienced members could look over it and make sure I'm not doing anything wrong it would be appreciated.
For reference, this is the clock I'll be using
http://parts.digikey.com/1/parts/164197 ... hz-et.html

I've used mainly AVR's before so all the Power on Reset stuff is new to me.

Thanks!
Jon
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

lilltroll
XCore Expert

Post by lilltroll »

Using linear regulators*, almost 80% of the input power will be heat before it reaches the XMOS chip.
I hope power consumption and heat is not an issue in your design.

*I haven't checked the part-numbers, but I cannot see any buck-inductors.
Probably not the most confused programmer anymore on the XCORE forum.
lilltroll
XCore Expert

Post by lilltroll »

The PLL will never start, R1 is incorrect with a factor 1000.
lilltroll
XCore Expert

Post by lilltroll »

Do you have a solution for programming the SPI-memory?
You do not seem to have any JTAG/XTAG connection.
Bianco
XCore Expert

Post by Bianco »

- C1 PLL decoupling cap value isn't specified, 1uF is recommended.

- Your oscillator is specified for 2.5V operation, not 3.3V
http://www.abracon.com/Oscillators/ASE2series.pdf

- I would use a lower value on the oscillator output series termination: 33R instead of 330R.

- I don't see a 3.3V regulator in this series: http://www.national.com/ds/LM/LM2937.pdf