Simple USB DAC Design

New to XMOS and XCore? Get started here.
braddrew0

Simple USB DAC Design

Post by braddrew0 »

Hi Guys,

I've been procrastinating making a USB DAC for a few years now and I'm finally in a position where I'm going to make it a reality. I've spent the last month researching and then this weekend putting together a basic schematic. Before I move on to routing boards, I wonder if there's anyone here who can take a quick look and make sure I'm not missing anything obvious? It's based heavily on reference designs so it should be fine, but thank you anyway :)

Here's the general idea:

* It's a multi-board system - that way I can add and remove layers as I progress
* All boards will be two-layer to start, moving on to four-layer once I am more comfortable with the hardware
* Programming via SEGGER J-Link over JTAG
* The brains are an XU208-128 driving an AK4432 DAC

Board by board we have...

Main Power Board

* You probably can ignore this one - it's effectively a breakout for me to plug the three channels of my benchtop supply into in order to generate +V, -V and 5V cleanly (the +/-V are the +/- rails for the amps, not shown in this schematic)

DAC Power Board

* Generates 3.3V, 1.0V and a 'Power Ready' signal (which is used to drive the MCU reset)
* General logic is the 3.3V regulator starts up, is asserted as 3.3V by the ADM803, this enables the 1.0V regulator on a soft start (capacitor chosen for 5ms start time) which runs through an ADM1085 on 10ms delay to give the ready signal
* One thing I'm not certain about is the resistor sizing to drive the 'Power Ready' LED... I think it will work this way, but with R2 = R3, will it drop the voltage too far to provide a proper 'Ready' signal to the buffer on the DAC board? Should R2 be smaller (say 1k)?

USB to I2S Board

* This is basically the XMOS board - again very heavily reference design