Channel Blocking Confusion

New to XMOS and XCore? Get started here.
wowden
New User

Channel Blocking Confusion

Post by wowden »

Hello XMOS community,

I am new to the XMOS environment and I am trying to get my feet wet. I think there is something I am failing to understand about channels. I am running two function simultaneously; one to measure the frequency of a button being pressed, while the other will request the frequency and print it. However, when I run the code it blocks and a<:1 and never enters the 1st case. What am I doing wrong? Thank you for your help.

Cheers,
Wowden

Code: Select all

/*test code*/

#include <platform.h>
#include <print.h>

void chopFreq( chanend chopI, chanend chopO, in port chop_ind);
void bar(chanend a, chanend b, in port B);

on stdcore [0]: in port But1      = PORT_BUTTON_A;
on stdcore [0]: in port But2      = PORT_BUTTON_B;

int main(void)
{	 chan a,b;
	par{

chopFreq(a,b, But1);
		bar(a,b, But2);

}
	return '0';
}

void chopFreq(chanend chopI, chanend chopO, in port chop_ind)
{	timer t;
	int garbage=0;
	unsigned time1;
	unsigned time2;
	unsigned freq=-1;
	int state;
	int count=0;
	t:>time1;
	while(1){
		select{
			case chopI :> garbage :
				chopO <: freq;
				break;
			default:
				chop_ind :> state ;
				if(state==14){
					count++;
					chop_ind when pinseq(15):>void;
				}
				break;
		}
		if(count ==10){
			t:>time2;
			count=0;
			freq=(time2-time1)/1000000;
			t:>time1;
		}
	}

}

void bar(chanend b,chanend a, in port B){
	int temp=1;
	while(1){
		B when pinseq(14) :> void;
		a <: 1;
		b :> temp;
		printint(temp);
	};
}

bsmithyman
Experienced Member

Post by bsmithyman »

There are a couple of things you might want to look at: for one thing, channels are bidirectional, so you should only need a or b, not both. That shouldn't really cause problems though, it's just not very efficient.