XCore 200 MC Board Multichannel Output

New to XMOS and XCore? Get started here.
jamesg

XCore 200 MC Board Multichannel Output

Post by jamesg »

Hi all,

Apologies in advance if I am not posting in the right forum, but I had a few questions, and I am totally new to the xcore environment. I have a decent chunk of experience with C# and matlab, but most of my experience has been with FPGAs or windows assemblies. I would like to get at least 12 channels going, output only, no input. TDM would be great if I could get more channels, but I haven't done enough research yet.

1. Is xTime studio the best development tool for use when working with the xcore 200 mc board? Java is driving me up a wall right now, and I'd love to use a different IDE if that is not a terrible idea.

2. Is the xcore 200 mc board the best for developing an AVB endpoint? Would I be better off using a DIP mount? Apart from the TDM jumpers at J7 and J8, I don't see much room for digital expansion on the MC board.

3. Regarding the drivers from Thesycon... are those specifically necessary for USB audio only? Or will I need those drivers for AVB as well? I haven't seen much mention of Mac audio drivers. Can someone educate me/point me in the right direction there?

Thank you in advance,
James

mon2
XCore Legend

Post by mon2 »

Hello jamesg and welcome. Not an audio developer but..

A1) Yes. Are you facing JAVA issues with the installation of the XMOS toolchain? The secret is to install the 32 bit JAVA engine, even if you are on 64 bit platforms. You do not need to uninstall the 64 bit version off your box as both the 32 and 64 bit versions can co-exist.

A2) Yes. Most audio developers using XMOS are basing their efforts from this reference design. Most of the parts related to these devices will be SMT.

A3) Not sure.

FPGA? Painfully working through ModelSim now :( for a manchester encoder / decoder.
jamesg

Post by jamesg »

Mon2,