xScope No Probes

New to XMOS and XCore? Get started here.
dimitris
Active Member
Posts: 37
Joined: Tue Feb 19, 2013 5:07 pm

xScope No Probes

Postby dimitris » Tue Feb 19, 2013 5:15 pm

Hello community. It's my first post. Nice to meet you.

I am working on a slice kit with 12.1.0 tools.
I got a pretty simple design however the xScope denies to probe stuff.
-added the Xmos Link in the .xn file
-added the -fxscope flag on the makefile
-XTAG2 Link is set to on
-one slice kit
-one gpio module

I post my code in case somebody wants to dive in.
Thanx in advance!

EDIT: My xScope is permanently disconnected and when in offline mode the output file is always empty.

Code: Select all

#include<xs1.h>
#include<print.h>
#include "i2c.h"
#include<platform.h>
#include<string.h>
#include <math.h>
#include"common.h"
#include <xscope.h>


#define I2C_NO_REGISTER_ADDRESS 1
#define debounce_time XS1_TIMER_HZ/50
#define print_delay 5000000
#define BUTTON_PRESS_VALUE 2


#define epsilon 0.01
#define dt 0.01			//100ms loop time
#define MAX 4			//For current stauration
#define MIN -4
#define Kp 0.1
#define Kd 0.005
#define Ki 0.01

/*---------------------------------------------------------------------------
 ports and clocks
 ---------------------------------------------------------------------------*/
 //::Port configuration

on stdcore[1]: port p_PORT_BUT_1=XS1_PORT_4C;
on stdcore[1]: struct r_i2c i2cOne = {
		XS1_PORT_1F,
		XS1_PORT_1B,
		1000
 };

void xscope_user_init(void) {
  xscope_register(2,
    XSCOPE_CONTINUOUS, "Microphone Left",  XSCOPE_FLOAT, "mVL",
    XSCOPE_CONTINUOUS, "Microphone Right", XSCOPE_FLOAT, "mVR"
  );
}


int gpio(chanend setpoint_TX){
	unsigned button_press_1,button_press_2,time_gpio;
	int button=1;
	float setpoint=2750.0;
	timer t_gpio;

	p_PORT_BUT_1:> button_press_1;
	set_port_drive_low(p_PORT_BUT_1);

	t_gpio:>time_gpio;

	while(1){
		setpoint_TX <: setpoint;
		//printstr("Setpoint: ");
		//printintln(setpoint);
	}
}

void sense( chanend sense_TX){
	//ADC init register value
//0 0 0 0 0 0 1 1				NO CHANNEL
	//unsigned char data[1]={0x03};
//0 0 0 1 0 0 1 1				1st CHANNEL
	//unsigned char data[1]={0x13};
//0 0 1 0 0 0 1 1				2nd CHANNEL
	unsigned char data[1]={0x23};
//0 1 0 0 0 0 1 1				3rd CHANNEL
	//unsigned char data[1]={0x43};
//1 0 0 0 0 0 1 1				4th CHANNEL
	//unsigned char data[1]={0x83};
//0 0 1 1 0 0 1 1				1st & 2nd CHANNEL
//	unsigned char data[1]={0x33};

	unsigned time_sense;
	timer t_sense;
	unsigned char temp[2];
	float adc_value;

////::Write config
	i2c_master_write_reg(0x28, 0x00, data, 1, i2cOne); //Write configuration information to ADC
	t_sense :> time_sense;
	while(1){
		temp[0]=0;temp[1]=0;
		i2c_master_rx(0x28, temp, 2, i2cOne); //Read ADC value using I2C read
		adc_value=(temp[0]<<6)|(temp[1]>>2);
		sense_TX <: adc_value;
	}
}

float PIDcall(float setpoint, float actualpoint){
	static float pre_error = 0;
	static float integral = 0;
	float error;
	float derivative;
	float output;

		//Calculate P,I,D
		error = setpoint - actualpoint;

		//in case of error too small then stop integration
		if(fabs(error)>epsilon){
			integral = integral + error*dt;
		}
		derivative = (error -pre_error)/dt;
		output = Kp*error + Ki*integral + Kd*derivative;

		//Update Error
		pre_error = error;
		return output;
}


void control(chanend setpoint_TX, chanend sense_TX){
	float output, setpoint, actualpoint,temppoint,diff;
	unsigned time_control;
	timer t_control;

	t_control :> time_control;

	while(1){

		sense_TX :> actualpoint;
		setpoint_TX :> setpoint;
		temppoint=1102;

		do{
			temppoint = PIDcall(setpoint,temppoint);
			diff = setpoint-temppoint;
			xscope_probe_data(0, temppoint);
			xscope_probe_data(1, diff);
		}while(fabs(diff)>epsilon);
	}
}


/**
 * Top level main for multi-UART demonstration
 */
 //::Main start
int main(void)
{
	chan setpoint_TX, sense_TX;

	par
	{
		on stdcore[1]: sense(sense_TX);
		on stdcore[1]: gpio(setpoint_TX);
		on stdcore[1]: control(setpoint_TX, sense_TX);
	}

	return 0;
}

//::Main
Last edited by dimitris on Tue Feb 19, 2013 6:23 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
sethu_jangala
XCore Expert
Posts: 589
Joined: Wed Feb 29, 2012 10:03 am

Postby sethu_jangala » Tue Feb 19, 2013 5:44 pm

Hi Dimitris,

You can find the xscope examples in the following repository:

https://github.com/xcore/sw_xscope_examples

Thanks,
Sethu.
dimitris
Active Member
Posts: 37
Joined: Tue Feb 19, 2013 5:07 pm

Postby dimitris » Tue Feb 19, 2013 6:17 pm

Sethu,
thank you for the response. I have used those examples but I also haven't managed to get probes on the xscope. To be honest I went through them but I mostly based on the xscope documentation to avoid incompatibilities.
User avatar
Folknology
XCore Legend
Posts: 1274
Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2009 10:20 pm

Postby Folknology » Tue Feb 19, 2013 7:46 pm

Also make sure X0D3-6 on star slice socket are not connected/used.

regards
Al
dimitris
Active Member
Posts: 37
Joined: Tue Feb 19, 2013 5:07 pm

Postby dimitris » Tue Feb 19, 2013 10:26 pm

Dear Folknology,

nothing is being used apart from the GPIO on the square slot.
I tried all the sw_example apps too and still the xScope has the red Disconnected label...
User avatar
sethu_jangala
XCore Expert
Posts: 589
Joined: Wed Feb 29, 2012 10:03 am

Postby sethu_jangala » Wed Feb 20, 2013 5:10 am

Dimitris,

Is the Link Switch "ON" on the XA-SK-XATG2(Xtag2 adapter slice)[black color switch]. If this is "OFF", this should be made "ON" to use Xscopes.

Also, while running from the xtimecomposer, have you enabled xscope in "Run Configurations" menu.

Thanks,
Sethu.
dimitris
Active Member
Posts: 37
Joined: Tue Feb 19, 2013 5:07 pm

Postby dimitris » Wed Feb 20, 2013 10:04 am

Hi Sethu,

Yes the link is ON as well as the xScope in Run Configurations. I have also tried both offline and real time modes but still nothing. The xScope starts but it looks as disconnected.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests