Mixed I/O and bit masking on Xmos ports

New to XMOS and XCore? Get started here.
mynameisdev

Mixed I/O and bit masking on Xmos ports

Post by mynameisdev »

Morning,

I get the feeling this is a really simple question - which is covered in the documentation - but for the life of me I can't figure it out. This is my first time out in the real world with XMOS - it has been -er- interesting.

Is it possible, on an XMOS, to configure the individual bits of a port as Input or Output, rather then the entire port.

I know there are one-bit port available for this sort of thing but in the scenario I am currently facing that isn't going to help me.

For those of you who have not had a play, the GPIO header on an XC-3 is laid out like this:

More details here, on page 7

Now - as far as I can see, these pins can only be configured as 4- or 8-wide ports.

At the moment, I can blink my LEDs and so on with no trouble and - I can blink some LEDs and read a button input and blink some LEDs if I set the thing up as two 4-wide ports and have some LEDs on one and an input on the other.

Even using the 2x4-wide ports option I miss either some of my inputs or some of my outputs, depending on the configuration.

Coming from PIC/Atmel I'm perplexed as to how I cannot configure individual pins as I or O (mmm TRIS registers...). I understand though that XMOS doesn't play the same sort of ball... In my experience if a port has mixed I/O you can use an XOR mask when reading/writing to the port to make sure you don't affect any of the other pins. Is that a plausible method in this instance?

Anyway - any pointers would be much appreciated

Best
D

Bianco
XCore Expert

Post by Bianco »

mynameisdev wrote:Morning,

Is it possible, on an XMOS, to configure the individual bits of a port as Input or Output, rather then the entire port.

Best
D
No
ale500
Respected Member

Post by ale500 »